EIAS and Uzbekistan’s Institute for Strategic and Regional Studies Hold Videoconference


On July 3, a videoconference on “Prospects and opportunities for enhancing cooperation between the European Union and Central Asian countries. The role of Uzbekistan in implementation of the European Strategy in the region” took place between the European Institute for Asian Studies and the Institute for Strategic and Regional Studies (ISRS) of Uzbekistan.

ISRS was founded in 1992 by the Decree of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan. The main directions of ISRS information-analytical and scientific-research activities include:

  • Topical issues of ensuring stable and sustainable development of society and the state in modern conditions;

  • Problems of regional security in Central Asia, prospects for the development of multilateral interaction with the countries of the region;

  • Current tendencies of global development and international security, prospects for cooperation of the Republic of Uzbekistan with the states world countries, international organizations and financial institutions.

During the videoconference, EIAS and ISRS held an exchange of views on the following topics:

  • Approaches and best practices of the EU, Uzbekistan and Central Asian countries to combat the COVID-19 pandemic and minimizing its socio-economic consequences

  • The new EU Central Asia Strategy:

    • Discussion of the enhanced role and importance of the Central Asian region and Uzbekistan in particular for the EU.

    • Evolution of priority EU projects in Central Asia in the social, health, economic, financial, environmental and connectivity spheres.

    • Consideration of future directions for enhancing the EU cooperation with Uzbekistan in the context of the Europe-Asia Connectivity Strategy.

  • Priority areas in economic cooperation including World Trade Organisation (WTO) accession, Uzbekistan’s obtention of Generalised System of Preferences + (GSP) status from the EU, and potential sectoral agreements between the EU and Uzbekistan.